‘somehow the vital connection is made…’

I’m a romantic. I know because my friends tell me so. often with a sigh and a shake of the head.

I can’t help it. I love the connections between people. Its not easy to explain, I’ve tried for ages but it comes out woolly, vague and not entirely what I mean. There is a part to this which is just indescribable. These connections make you feel less alone, in the most genuine sense, because so much of what we experience think and feel in this life is private and lonely. those points when i realise someone else gets it and understands my ideas, my excitement, my anger, those moments are my antidote. You can discuss and challenge each other and before you know it hours have passed. You have new ideas, you look at the world in new ways. You grow better and brighter in each others company.

But you know what I’ve been figuring out lately… It’s not enough.

It’s important, and its amazing and its fun and exciting. But on its own its not enough. Not without care and respect and kindness and love. I have to stop letting people hurt me because I think they have amazing minds. Because I’m in love with the way they see the world. Because they spellbind me with their words.

Romantics are stupid when they find a connection and they think this is the only possibility for them. That it is this or nothing. Because the world is bigger than we think. The possibilities ripple outwards from our touch like waves in a pond.

 

About Rachel

zinester/diy-til-i-die/love hate relationship with arts admin/girlpunkfeminist/geek
This entry was posted in new stuff, something i learnt today and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘somehow the vital connection is made…’

  1. Melanie says:

    “You can discuss and challenge each other and before you know it hours have passed. You have new ideas, you look at the world in new ways. You grow better and brighter in each others company.”
    “I have to stop letting people hurt me because I think they have amazing minds. Because I’m in love with the way they see the world. Because they spellbind me with their words.”

    Oh, Rachel, I understand this so completely xox

  2. hecks i’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not! the personal writing pieces are the hardest by far for me to write, so i’m very glad it meant something to you. i’ve been trying to ask jd re mimi but i haven’t seen her (apart from a bit of a shadow!) since tuesday!!!!! crazy stuffs

Leave a Reply

